Pulao – Basmati Rice cooked with Chicken,Spices and Pickle

This is an easy recipe, tastes good too,  especially for people who love the aroma and taste of Indian Pickles.

IMG_7176

Preparation Time:15-20 minutes                   Cooking time:20 minutes

Eating time : 5 mins 😛

Serves :2

Ingredients:

IMG_7169

1 Potato peeled ,cut into small pieces

chicken boneless 150 gm

Green peas- half cup

green pepper- half

ginger-same amount as garlic,finely chopped

garlic-2-3 cloves ,finely chopped

2 cups  basmati rice soaked in water for 15-20 mins.(for 2 cups rice take 2 cups of water to soak them)

1 tablespoon – Mixed pickle ( from Indian store)

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon turmeric,

1/2 teaspoon cumin powder

1/2 teaspoon chili powder

1 teaspoon cumin seeds for frying, 1 bay leaf.

1 tablespoon olive oil.

Directions :

Put  oil in wok or cooker and heat for a minute ,add cumin seeds  and let it splutter.

Add  chicken pieces and the spices over chicken ,fry the chicken for a minute.

IMG_7170

Add green pepper to your cooker and fry  for another 2-3 minutes on medium flame.

IMG_7171

Now add potatoes and peas and cook for another 2 minutes.

IMG_7172

Now add pickle to the sauce ,

IMG_7173

and add the rice to cooker along with its water.

IMG_7174

Add 1 bay leaf and close the lid of cooker/pot and let it cook on low flame for 10-15 minutes.

IMG_7175

For cooker I cook it upto 2 whistles and turn it off.If you are cooking in other pot,cover it and cook over low flame and check in between if rice are cooked .Enjoy it with raita  or simple pulao is also good enough.

IMG_7176

5 thoughts on “Pulao – Basmati Rice cooked with Chicken,Spices and Pickle

  1. accidentallyinked

    It took me alot of courage to do what I just did a second ago.
    I followed this blog. YAY! XD

    You know why I didn’t follow before? 😛
    I just cant see all the pics of yummy food.I know I wont make it and will just drool and get my screen wet. 🙄
    But still I want to be updates,who knows I might try something.If I’m not lazy.

    Liked by 1 person

      • accidentallyinked

        Haha thanks. 🙂
        No you come to me 😛 and teach me.If I come when I go back I will be as fat as a hippo wearing ballet shoes and pink dress trying to loose weight.Wha what? XD
        Anyways,it is not only that I’m lazy.Cooking takes time and finding ingredient.While making Chilli Chicken there were some funny scenes.Haha XD

        Like

  2. sulphurman

    I love pulao. One of my favourite dishes. Over here we don’t usually add vegetables, but I have tasted that variety too and the veggies certainly add to the flavour.
    Your pulao looks great. That picture has me drooling. One of these days I AM going to get up and start making pulao (and not the khayali kind).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

