Hariyali Chicken (Chicken in green sauce)

If you love spicy food and green leafy veggies, This is the recipe for you! Hariyali in Hindi means Greenery, Chicken cooked with in paste of green leafy vegetables, I choose spinach,coriander,green pepper and some chillies for the paste ,smells great and taste even better!

Hariyali chicken

                            Preparation Time:15 min                              Cooking Time: 30 mins

Serves:2 people

Ingredients :

Chicken 150 grams
1  medium onion ( finely chopped)
Fresh Ginger and  Garlic chopped (2 cloves ,chopped ginger should be same amount as garlic)
Green chillies 1-2 pieces (sliced) ,Depending on hotness of chili
Green Paste 1 cup( Spinach ,chopped Capsicum,Coriander in  equal quantities grind them together ,I took frozen spinach as I didn’t have fresh ones)
Salt 1 tablespoon
Cumin Powder  ½ teaspoon
Turmeric       ½ teaspoon
Chili Powder ( 1/4 teaspoon) Depends on your spice level.
Garam masala ½ teaspoon
Cumin Seeds for frying (½ teaspoon)
Oil – 1 tablespoon
1 table spoon to tomato paste concentrate
Method: 
Grind coriander leaves, spinach, capsicum  into a smooth fine paste.
Chop finely onion,ginger,garlic.slit each chilli into long 4 pieces),
In a wok/pan  heat oil  and  add cumin seeds , add the chopped onion and ginger garlic  and chillies(fry the chopped onions and green chillies. Saute till the onions become light brown.
Add the spices and fry for a minute, add now chicken. Sauté for 5 minutes
Now add the green paste,tomato paste. Then add 1 cup of water. Put the lid on and cook the chicken on low flame for 10 minutes.
Add  garam masala and salt and cook covered for another 5 minutes on medium heat.
Serve hot with chapati or rice or moroccan bread.
Check for video ->Hariyali Chicken
7 thoughts on “Hariyali Chicken (Chicken in green sauce)

  1. farheen siddiqui

    hey sana darling…its looking awesum. My hubby actually loves non veg so much. I’m really thankful taht you are giving me items to put it in my “TRY” out list. I dont know when I will try but surely inform you about it. In sha Allah.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Loubnanya

    Hmm it looks delicious, as always. I’m sure I will love it since I have a recipe from my mum with spinach and coriander and I just love the way they taste together!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

